Wk13-Artist Interview-Marty Knop

Standard

IMG_7658IMG_7659IMG_7660

This week I discovered a different type of art, print making.  As I was walking around the gallery there were pieces of art that involved so many different shapes and designs.  One would have to look very closely to capture all the variety of print being combined together.  It was very appealing to the eye and I wish I could create something like that.  The print that was black and white seemed like an optical illusion almost.  Every time I took a step closer or a step further from the art work, it seemed as if the lines were moving or shaking almost.  My favorite part of this gallery was being able to turn to the next piece of art and seeing something completely different.  They all carried the same concept of lines and shapes, but each piece was so unique and intriguing.

Knop explained how his process of creating this art was all through a computer program.  I was surprised to find out that generating mathematical shapes was the foundation for his thesis exhibition.  Since Knop’s artwork was extremely intricate, I expected the process to be very intricate as well.  I was correct regarding the intricate process and even got a detailed explanation of how Knop creates his print making magic.  Since he generates these shapes from from computing data, he ends up an abundance of varied shapes which are then stored in a database.  Once everything is on the database he can view all the shapes as a “visual vocabulary”.  From this database he picks and chooses which shapes to use and edit together.  This sounds extremely time consuming and I am sure I would not have the patience for something like this.  However, it is interesting to know that picks and chooses what shapes to combine together.  I initially thought he would start with one shape then continually add on random shapes as they came to his mind.  His process obviously sounds much more structured and reliable.

As mentioned earlier, I was initially attracted to the variety of solid shapes and shapes with color or designs inside them.  Knop explained how this was his goal.  He wanted to find a medium of combinations between random patterning and simple patterns so that it could attract visual attention.  I was an example of his goal be proven to true.  I liked how he categorized his art in two categories: random and simple.  In Knop’s terms simple patterns contain little information, but are also very repetitive.  On the other hand, random shapes and designs contain more information and are not repetitive at all.  I had never thought about shapes as random or simple and it was an interesting new perspective I was being introduced to.  However, as I took a closer look at his art I can see how there was nearly and equal amount of random and simple shapes in all of his pieces.  Print making is not my preferred form of art, but it is still enjoyable to look at especially Knop’s artwork.

Leave a Reply

