Wk4-Activity-The Mina Show

Standard

IMG_0682

This week’s activity was to create our own version of the Mina Show.  It was inspired by the one and only Marina Barnes who I have the pleasure of calling a close friend and sister in the same sorority.  I felt this assignment was very relatable to me and I’m sure to several other people as well.  I know I find myself having random “Mina Show” moments all the time.  There are certain situations I find myself in that I think “wow it would be so cool if…” and I actually do it.  If I find it interesting and fun then I do not mind potentially making a fool of myself or what other people might think because it’s “The Julyssa Show”.

Throughout this week I was lucky enough to go to the beach twice.  I went to Newport Beach on Friday with a couple of friends and the weather was absolutely perfect.  While at this beach I wanted to see how high I could jump and had my friend constantly takes pictures until I got the perfect one.  On sunday I went to Laguna Beach and thought it’d funny to run around with a blanket as a cape.  That is exactly what I did and even got it recorded on a slow-mo video.  How cool is that?  A while ago my roommate had shown me a parody picture of Jonah Hill and James Franco and we both agreed it would be a hilarious idea to reenact it.  Finally we had time this week to complete it and neither of us could stop laughing the entire time.  It took about 45 shots to get the perfect picture.  Last but not least, I FED A SQUIRREL! I just so happened to be walking to class on wednesday eating trail mix and I know squirrels love nuts so I figured I might as well share.

I would define my “Mina Show” moments as performance art.  The activities I did this week were random such as the jumping and squirrel feeding, but the reenacted photograph was scripted.  Performance art is defined as either scripted or unscripted, random or carefully orchestrated; spontaneous or otherwise carefully planned with or without audience participation.  I would definitely not consider any of these moments a flash mob.  A flash mob is is a group of people who assemble suddenly in a public place, perform an unusual and seemingly pointless act for a brief time.  However, I would absolutely love to participate in a flash mob because I never have before.  My “Mina Show” moments have been extremely enjoyable and I hope everyone has the chance to enjoy theirs as well.

FullSizeRender (15)IMG_0908IMG_9048 - Version 2

Leave a Reply

